Just Because I Tweet

I got into a crabby conversation on twitter following my “Has Mike Ferry Lost His Mind” post. Unfortunately, I offended one of Mike’s followers, who surprisingly doesn’t agree with Mike’s stance on Social Media, but still wanted to argue the whole thing. Here’s a piece of the conversation:

Once I realized this conversation wasn’t going in a productive direction, I tried to remove myself from the argument and wished this person a pleasant weekend. I didn’t have the heart to share the following Twitter success story with them… but I’ll share it with you!

This last December I was looking for some local people active on Twitter to interact with. I stumbled across @bryanphelps who works at Orange Soda, a local internet marketing company. I clicked follow, in hopes that we would interact in the future. About 20 minutes later I get this e-mail:

Here I was just hoping to maybe interact at some point in the distant future, instead I find myself working with an excited buyer! Within three months we found an amazing home that meet all of their needs and wants. The Phelps were one of my most enjoyable “transactions” this year. But thankfully I didn’t treat them like a transaction! What started as a simple twitter relationship turned into a successful transaction, and because I treated the Phelps like I would any valuable relationship, I was rewarded with not only a commission check… but this:

Today’s new generation of buyers are going about the purchase process in ways never thought imaginable. It will continue to change, and rapidly. To ignore how buyers and sellers are finding answers to their Real Estate needs in today’s market is a very dangerous path to take. I’m grateful every day that Social Media has changed the way I do business. It’s changed my mindset from “Transactional” to a focus on my clients and building those “Relationships”.

Good luck with your Social Media journey!

About utahREpro

Chris is the managing broker for Prudential Utah Elite Real Estate in American Fork, Utah. His passions include spending time with his family, Real Estate, Social Media, traveling, reading, movies, golf, dirt biking and so much more. Chris is a graduate of the National Association of REALTORS (NAR) Leadership Academy as well as the Utah Association of REALTORS (UAR) Leadership Academy. He has served in many capacities in the real estate industry at the national, state and local levels, including: 2013 Treasurer of the Utah Association of REALTORS 2011 President of the Utah County Association of REALTORS (UCAR) 2011 REALTOR of the Year – UCAR NAR Federal Political Coordinator assigned to US Senator Mike Lee 2011 NAR Strategic Planning Committee 2010 – 2013 NAR Public Policy Coordinating Committee 2011 Dean of the LeadershipUAR Program Chris has been a licensed REALTOR in the State of Utah since 2004. He has been recognized both nationally and locally by Prudential and was inducted into their Hall of Fame in 2010.
This entry was posted in Real Estate, Social Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just Because I Tweet

  1. Chris,

    Great post!

    And you KNOW that I am not at all surprised by this exciting story.

    We’re just at the edge of this great phenomenon known as Social Media.

    The future belongs to professionals like you who see, understand and leverage this communication transformation some are calling the “greatest cultural shift since the industrial revolution.”

    Best,
    Michael

  2. Pingback: My Top Blog Posts of 2010 | utahREpro

Leave a comment