Data or Service… What’s Your Value?

valueI had a very interesting experience this week with a referral opportunity that left me scratching my head.It has shown me once again that many real estate agents have mistakenly placed their value proposition with the data and not with their service. It’s about serving the client, not giving them data they already can access on their own.

A Facebook friend made me aware of a request from an agent who was looking to refer a potential buyer to an agent here in Utah. I immediately responded by e-mailing this agent my online resume and an extensive list of past client recommendations. The agent responded later that night:

“I have talked to several agents in the area and as I’ve told them, my biggest concern is someone who will be patient with them. I told them I would talk to a few agents to make sure I found one that is experienced, yet able to be attentive to them. They are first time home buyers and are VERY nervous about getting taken advantage of or sold into something that doesn’t fit them just for the sake of the Realtors commission. Their price range is up to $150,000 and they would like to be educated about the area so that when they find the right house they are able to move on it.  If you think you have a little time for hand holding, let me know.”

I responded back immediately that “I love working with first time home buyers and would gladly help them!” The next morning I got this response from the agent:

“Thanks so much Chris.  I do appreciate your responsiveness and it was a hard choice.  I narrowed it down to you and another agent and let her choose this morning.  She did choose the other agent, mostly because the other agent had already sent me a few listings to get an idea of values in the area.”

So the agent’s recommendation to their buyer is to go with an agent that provided a listing sheet vs. an agent who provided actual recommendations and feedback from several first time home buyers. I guess what confuses me was the first e-mail where the agent made it clear that the buyer’s wanted to be handled a certain way and yet the choice was for the data… not for the service… Sadly, many consumers are being potentially misled by agents who are perhaps not focusing on what really matters.

Which would you choose? Data or Service? This or That…

UtahRealEstate.com | WFR Multiple Listing Service | ReportsChris Nichols, Orem real estate agent in UT - Prudential Utah Elite Real Estate - Reviews and Ratings

About utahREpro

Chris is the managing broker for Prudential Utah Elite Real Estate in American Fork, Utah. His passions include spending time with his family, Real Estate, Social Media, traveling, reading, movies, golf, dirt biking and so much more. Chris is a graduate of the National Association of REALTORS (NAR) Leadership Academy as well as the Utah Association of REALTORS (UAR) Leadership Academy. He has served in many capacities in the real estate industry at the national, state and local levels, including: 2013 Treasurer of the Utah Association of REALTORS 2011 President of the Utah County Association of REALTORS (UCAR) 2011 REALTOR of the Year – UCAR NAR Federal Political Coordinator assigned to US Senator Mike Lee 2011 NAR Strategic Planning Committee 2010 – 2013 NAR Public Policy Coordinating Committee 2011 Dean of the LeadershipUAR Program Chris has been a licensed REALTOR in the State of Utah since 2004. He has been recognized both nationally and locally by Prudential and was inducted into their Hall of Fame in 2010.
This entry was posted in Professionalism, Real Estate and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Data or Service… What’s Your Value?

  1. Chadney says:

    At first I was shocked that someone would pick the data sheet over a resume and recommendations. I know that I will not buy anything that does not have great recommendations. I rely heavily on my peers when it comes to purchasing or choosing products and services. Then I thought about it for a minute and reread the blog and here is what hit me.
    1. Did the referral agent get a larger referral commission from the agent with the data sheet?
    2. Did the client feel that the data sheet agent had already taken on their case by providing data on what they were looking for?
    As a buyer I might have felt that the data sheet showed that they had time for me and were already working on my behalf. As an inexperienced buyer you may not understand that the data sheet is easily produced you can even create for yourself something similar on many Real Estate Sites.
    It is my opinion that the referring agent should have explained that to the buyer, and also prompted them to look deeper into the background of both agents. I would have also encouraged my buyers to speak directly with both agents to see who they felt they were more compatible with. When it comes right down to purchasing a home anyone can give you a data sheet; only a good, experienced, seasoned agent can provide you with the knowledge, expertise, and wisdom that is need in the transaction process. It is important as a Real Estate community to get the word out and educate buyers and sellers on the importance of choosing an excellent educated agent.

Leave a Reply

