Do You Know Who You’re Working With?

Wordle - REALTOR Code of EthicsI have a friend, no this isn’t one of those things where the friend is actually me… I have been friends with this person for more than 17 years. We have worked together at 3 different companies prior to my real estate career. We go dirt biking together regularly, we can sit and talk for hours, he’s like the big brother I never had. I’ve known his daughter since she was four years old, so when it came time for her and her fiancé to buy a home, of course she called me. My friend also told his daughter that you do whatever Chris tells you. That’s how much this friend trusts me.

Young Couple HomeThe objective of my friend’s daughter and fiancé was to buy a starter home prior to their wedding in 3 weeks! Mind you, a typical transaction takes about 30 days and we hadn’t even found the house yet! After a false start on the first house they saw, we quickly found the perfect home for them at an incredible price and immediately went to work trying to close this in just 2 weeks. Unfortunately, we stumbled across a major title issue (see “But your house is on my property!“) Thankfully we had a wonderful property owner next door to work with and a great seller and a phenomenal seller’s agent. We got the title issue resolved and the keys were delivered to my friend’s daughter and her husband the minute they got back from their honeymoon.

So I thought that was the end of the story, another happy closed sale in the books. Not so fast. My friend comes over that night we delivered the keys and personally thanks me for taking care of his daughter and for pulling off a miracle due to the timing and title issues. He then proceeds to tell me an interesting story…

frustrated agentApparently when word got out in his neighborhood that his daughter had made an offer on a home, several REALTOR® friends/neighbors came around asking who they were using and why they weren’t being used to represent them. Questions like do you even know this person? Are you sure they are going to represent your daughter and her interests well? Has she signed anything yet with this other REALTOR®? And the list went on and on and on…

agent celebratingMy friend, deeply disappointed in his friend’s/neighbor’s poor behavior and lack of professionalism simply said he wasn’t going to discuss this with them. He then told me that he had another referral for me. Apparently a neighbor heard how his daughter had bought a home and wanted his engaged son to do the same. I grabbed a small stack of cards and told him to give one to his neighbor. I also gave him a small stack of my 2011 President of the Utah County Association of REALTORS® business cards and said “Give these to your REALTOR® friends who had questioned your decision. Ask them if they know me and a little thing called the Code of Ethics!”

It’s really sad that competitors take on a mentality of scarcity instead of abundance. My friend even told me that he most likely would have referred the neighbor out to another one of his REALTOR® friends just to be fair and spread the wealth, which I would have had no problem with at all. But sadly their behavior made my friend realize that he should only be referring out to true professionals.

*WordCloud above is the REALTOR® Code of Ethics. Created using Wordle.net

About utahREpro

Chris is the managing broker for Prudential Utah Elite Real Estate in American Fork, Utah. His passions include spending time with his family, Real Estate, Social Media, traveling, reading, movies, golf, dirt biking and so much more. Chris is a graduate of the National Association of REALTORS (NAR) Leadership Academy as well as the Utah Association of REALTORS (UAR) Leadership Academy. He has served in many capacities in the real estate industry at the national, state and local levels, including: 2013 Treasurer of the Utah Association of REALTORS 2011 President of the Utah County Association of REALTORS (UCAR) 2011 REALTOR of the Year – UCAR NAR Federal Political Coordinator assigned to US Senator Mike Lee 2011 NAR Strategic Planning Committee 2010 – 2013 NAR Public Policy Coordinating Committee 2011 Dean of the LeadershipUAR Program Chris has been a licensed REALTOR in the State of Utah since 2004. He has been recognized both nationally and locally by Prudential and was inducted into their Hall of Fame in 2010.
This entry was posted in Professionalism, Real Estate and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

