Running Your Own Race

My Wife Is Trying To Kill Me!

Chris and Marci Salt Lake City 5KNO, I’m serious, she is, look at those eyes! It all started about a year and a half ago. She got this crazy idea to get me to run a 5K with her. This picture is at the start line of the 2010 Salt Lake City 5K. Again, look at the eyes – it goes without saying I have a pretty decent life insurance policy! I’ll come back to how she’s trying to kill me…

So we start training for this thing, and I just have to tell you – I HATE RUNNING! I am trying my darndest to keep up with her on these training runs. Mind you she weighs about 100 lbs less than I do. I continually end up running out of steam and end up walking after about 1K of running. This goes on and on with me trying to keep up with her and getting gassed out and walking. Finally race day comes and I once again try to keep up and end up walking the majority of the 5K and come in approximately 10 minutes behind her.

Salt Lake City 5KSo fast forward to 2011 and she signs us up again (I’m telling you, she’s determined to kill me). This time, as we begin training, I decide that I’m not going to keep up with her and that I am going to run at my own pace. Well, an interesting thing happens! I find myself running further and longer than I ever have. Race day comes along and I run almost the entire 5K without walking. I cross the finish line a mere 3 minutes behind her (trust me, it’s the whole 100 lbs of extra weight thing I mentioned earlier…)!

So what was the difference? I RAN MY OWN RACE and not someone else’s! How often do we set goals for ourselves based on what someone else is doing or has done? I’ve seen it time and time again in real estate where an agent sees someone else performing at incredible levels and kills themselves trying to duplicate or exceed the other person, when in reality they would be much more successful doing business at the pace that fits them best.

PossibleNow I don’t want you to take this as an excuse not to push yourself. Every time I run a 5K I have a goal to beat my previous time, thus stretching myself. But I never set a goal to run faster than I can or at a pace that is not my own. This simple principle of pacing yourself will have tremendous impact if you apply it properly to your goal setting. You will find yourself accomplishing your goals and setting new levels of achievement vs. failing to accomplishing your goals and increasing your ability to achieve.

I hope the lesson I learned by running my own pace is one you can apply to your own life as well. As for my wife trying to kill me… well now she’s talking about half-marathons!

About utahREpro

Chris is the managing broker for Prudential Utah Elite Real Estate in American Fork, Utah. His passions include spending time with his family, Real Estate, Social Media, traveling, reading, movies, golf, dirt biking and so much more. Chris is a graduate of the National Association of REALTORS (NAR) Leadership Academy as well as the Utah Association of REALTORS (UAR) Leadership Academy. He has served in many capacities in the real estate industry at the national, state and local levels, including: 2013 Treasurer of the Utah Association of REALTORS 2011 President of the Utah County Association of REALTORS (UCAR) 2011 REALTOR of the Year – UCAR NAR Federal Political Coordinator assigned to US Senator Mike Lee 2011 NAR Strategic Planning Committee 2010 – 2013 NAR Public Policy Coordinating Committee 2011 Dean of the LeadershipUAR Program Chris has been a licensed REALTOR in the State of Utah since 2004. He has been recognized both nationally and locally by Prudential and was inducted into their Hall of Fame in 2010.
This entry was posted in Goals, Leadership, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

