Stop the Madness, Please!

I can handle people who disagree with my point of view, BUT, at least disagree with me using real facts, not ridiculous assumptions that have no place in a logical discussion.

NAR has announced plans to vote on a dues increase at the May 2011 Midyear meetings. Many are reporting that this dues increase is a 50% increase. While that’s true, the more responsible way to present this dues increase would be to say it is $40. Clears up any possible misunderstanding as to how much money your dues is actually going to increase. If we divided that by 12 months it comes out to $3.33/month. The equivalent of skipping one trip to Starbucks each month.

Now the next step would be to understand how this dues increase will actually be used. Again, many would have you believe it’s for salary increases, for frivolous spending on the part of NAR, or because membership is down. If you really want to learn what the dues increase is for, then go to REALTOR® Action Center and get educated on the facts, not on what someone else is implying are the facts. There is plenty of content there to help you understand exactly how the money will be spent.

Again, if you want to disagree on the RPPSI dues increase please do it from an educated stand point. Use reasoning based on facts. Who knows you might actually learn something and find that RPPSI does indeed make sense. And if you don’t find it makes sense then at least you are disagreeing from a point of fact and not ridiculous speculation.

About utahREpro

Chris is the managing broker for Prudential Utah Elite Real Estate in American Fork, Utah. His passions include spending time with his family, Real Estate, Social Media, traveling, reading, movies, golf, dirt biking and so much more. Chris is a graduate of the National Association of REALTORS (NAR) Leadership Academy as well as the Utah Association of REALTORS (UAR) Leadership Academy. He has served in many capacities in the real estate industry at the national, state and local levels, including: 2013 Treasurer of the Utah Association of REALTORS 2011 President of the Utah County Association of REALTORS (UCAR) 2011 REALTOR of the Year – UCAR NAR Federal Political Coordinator assigned to US Senator Mike Lee 2011 NAR Strategic Planning Committee 2010 – 2013 NAR Public Policy Coordinating Committee 2011 Dean of the LeadershipUAR Program Chris has been a licensed REALTOR in the State of Utah since 2004. He has been recognized both nationally and locally by Prudential and was inducted into their Hall of Fame in 2010.
This entry was posted in NAR and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stop the Madness, Please!

  1. Mike Long says:

    Hi Chris,

    I thank you for your passion on the subject. I guess I just don’t know where it is being fueled. Unless it is locally from agents in your area. From what I’m reading on the blogs, facebook and twitter is an educated discussion on the RPPSI. Yes, there are some who are upset just because it is an increase and not necessarily because of the reason for the increase. You’re going to get that with such large membership. The folks I am talking to are upset 100% because of what the money is going to be used for and not just because of an increase. The people I am talking to are involved locally and at state and national levels and just feel that the proposal, or at least the part that goes to specific candidates, must remain voluntary through RPAC.

    I am involved at my local and state associations. I’m on the BOD of both. I have given to RPAC in the past. After many questionable choices by my trustees I decided that I just can’t voluntarily give my money if it goes to certain candidates. Be it a direct donation or an indirect donation…if it is money designed to help the candidate that I strongly disagree with get elected then you no longer have my money.

    I’m a strong believer in advocacy. I love our local GAD’s (government affairs directors) and Illinois has some of the best at the state level. They work very hard and I support them fully. I think if the money wanted to go towards their efforts of educated politicians on why our stances on Realtor issues are so important then I will gladly kick in another $40 a year. What I can not and will not stand for is for a mandatory feel that goes beyond that as help for that candidate in any way.

    If NAR wanted to separate RPAC from its advocacy program I would be a large donor to the advocacy year in and year out. With the current set up they now just get my time and energy in making sure our voices are heard.

    What I just said above is what I am hearing from colleagues in my area and what I am reading for the most part online. Again, there are going to be those who just will say NO to an increase no matter what but by and large I think this has been an informed and educated discussion.

    If you and anyone else want to voluntarily kick in another $40 per year to RPAC then you can do that. And if I don’t then I should have the same right to choose. That is where I stand and that is with full understanding of what these increases are for. Parts of it don’t bother me at all but the parts that do are complete deal breakers in my mind.

    • utahREpro says:

      Mike, Thank you for your educated input. Unfortunately the vast majority of comments I am coming across are not. Comments like “why should I fund a salary increase” etc. are a blatant display of ignorance. I can respect your opposition to RPPSI because it’s based on knowing the issue. I cannot respect the many who oppose it because they think it’s being used for things it is not…

  2. isellmoney says:

    The interesting thing to me about this conversation is that it is a continuation of a presentation that Rob Hahn did at RETSO last week. His point was that the Real Estate Industry is in peril – and more people should be talking about what needs to be done, what needs to change. In other words, WE should be the ones who talking about the issues – and the SOLUTIONS that will likely involve Game Changing ways we look at RRPSI, The Realtors Organization, and what it means to be a REALTOR… it’s time to take control of our own destiny, as opposed to just talking about QR Codes (you had to be there).

    • utahREpro says:

      Rob is a good friend, and I wish I could have been there. He actually sent me his speech beforehand and we had a few phone calls about it. He and I have been discussing holding a conference to discuss the solutions our industry so desperately needs. Problem is we can’t discuss solutions when the membership is too lazy to even get educated on what problems we face.

  3. Robyn Simshauser says:

    Wow!! I find your comment about realtors being “too lazy” to find out what the issues are very off putting. If your objective in wiriting your article is to educate the membership I’m not sure it can be accomplished in such a negative manner. By addressing the issue as you have you come across as condesending, boorish and quite frankly a bit elitest. I’m not sure that is how one accomplishes getting their point across or gaining converts. I have spent some time studying the issue of this political fund. I have many questions about NAR’s contributions to political races, the 17,000,000 plus that has been spent on lobbying efforts, the lobbyists themselves, and the bills they chose. But, what concerns me more is that though the increase only represents an additional $40.00, it is put on top of state dues, local dues, key dues, MLS dues, advertising costs, agency costs and hefty taxes at the end of the year. NAR is asking for these additional monies, state is asking for contributions to the RPAC fund and where does it stop in one of the worst real estate markets of all time. One has to ask how many hands can fit into one pocket for their pound of flesh. I know agents working second jobs, having a hard time to make ends meet and with no health insurance, so maybe its time for NAR to dig into its reserves and bring austerity measures into it’s own house as we all have done. Other than broad sweeping legislation like working on the assurance that prexisting health issues cannot be prejudiced against for health insurance, (which doesn’t affect all independent contractors) what has NAR fought for that represented an aid to the individual agent in the way they do business day to day. And please don’t say they fought off the banks and mortgage institutions who wanted to get in the RE business!! Maybe Mr. Phipps should have foregone his trip to the Far East and cut some corner there….all real estate is local after all!

Leave a Reply

