If You Build It, They Will Come…

Field of DreamsWe all remember that famous line from the “Field of Dreams” movie. I remember when I first started blogging, I really struggled with the concept of someone actually wanting to read something “I” wrote! I think every blogger has that internal battle when they start out. Well, today was that epiphany day when I realized my blog is actually being read by people outside of my sphere of Social Media regulars!

It started off when I noticed a strange spike in hits on a blog post I had written almost two weeks ago. I checked my referring traffic and was shocked to find that most of the hits were coming from WordPress, where I was stunned to find I was the featured blog under the Professionalism category:

Professionalism — Blogs, Pictures, and more on WordPress

I am by no means a prolific blogger, so this came as quite a surprise that WordPress would select my blog on “That’s a Waste of My Time…” to be featured like this.

I started taking this whole blogging thing much more seriously thanks to the example of my good friend Michael McClure, Professional One Franchising, also known as @ProfessionalOne on Twitter. Thanks to his example and encouragement I’ve found blogging to be vital aspect of my Social Media strategy.

Michael McClure - @ProfessionalOneThe real message I want you to get out of this is summed up perfectly in the title, “If You Build It, They Will Come.” Just start blogging, don’t worry about if someone will read it or not. Instead worry about creating valuable content that can’t help but be read! Before you know it you’ll have more blogging ideas than you know what do do with, and you’ll have readers… Who knows, maybe even WordPress will throw you a bone and feature your blog in one of their categories for the day!

PS – While writing this post I just notice WordPress threw me another bone and featured my Facebook post from earlier today.

BUILD IT… THEY WILL COME!

Utah's Social Media Savvy Realtor Facebook Blog Featured on WordPress

About utahREpro

Chris is the managing broker for Prudential Utah Elite Real Estate in American Fork, Utah. His passions include spending time with his family, Real Estate, Social Media, traveling, reading, movies, golf, dirt biking and so much more. Chris is a graduate of the National Association of REALTORS (NAR) Leadership Academy as well as the Utah Association of REALTORS (UAR) Leadership Academy. He has served in many capacities in the real estate industry at the national, state and local levels, including: 2013 Treasurer of the Utah Association of REALTORS 2011 President of the Utah County Association of REALTORS (UCAR) 2011 REALTOR of the Year – UCAR NAR Federal Political Coordinator assigned to US Senator Mike Lee 2011 NAR Strategic Planning Committee 2010 – 2013 NAR Public Policy Coordinating Committee 2011 Dean of the LeadershipUAR Program Chris has been a licensed REALTOR in the State of Utah since 2004. He has been recognized both nationally and locally by Prudential and was inducted into their Hall of Fame in 2010.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Social Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If You Build It, They Will Come…

  1. Reinaldo M says:

    Thanks for the advice….I think I worry to much about visits. I’ll try just to write. Maybe I’ll be surprised someday.

Leave a Reply

