Social Media Influence vs. Number of Followers

I started off 2011 with two really nice surprises! I moved into the most influential category for my city (Orem, UT – population 100,000) on WeFollow.com and TwitterGrader.com. Now, I am not sharing this to simply toot my own horn (yes, I am pretty proud of this!) but to illustrate a point and hopefully clear up a major misconception about Social Media.

If you look below you will notice that there are people below my number one ranking which have more followers than I do!

# of Followers does not = INFLUENCE

I am currently listed as more influential than Blendtec (famous for blending iPhones etc.) and Omniture (the SEO giant recently acquired by Adobe) on TwitterGrader. You’ll notice that they have respectively 1,100 and 2,300 more followers than I do. How does a little REALTOR® beat two major Orem, Utah corporations in Twitter influence?

ENGAGEMENT = INFLUENCE

If you’ll notice on the WeFollow screen shot the Orem Owlz (a minor league baseball team) has only 445 followers and yet their influence rating is right behind me at #2. They have almost one tenth the number of followers I have! It’s because they are highly engaged with their followers.

Hopefully you are taking advantage of services like Klout.com and WeFollow and TwitterGrader to ensure that you are making the most of your Social Media efforts. It’s great to have a lot of followers… but it doesn’t = success if you aren’t ENGAGED!

One last point – It takes time and effort to do this. There is no quick fix or solution to becoming influential. It took me well over a year to reach this position within my community. More importantly, once you’ve reached a level of influence it takes just as much work to maintain it!

Want to learn more about the value of being “ENGAGED”? Subscribe to the Brian Solis Blog and read his book ENGAGE!

Here are the screen shots from both TwitterGrader and WeFollow:

About utahREpro

Chris is the managing broker for Prudential Utah Elite Real Estate in American Fork, Utah. His passions include spending time with his family, Real Estate, Social Media, traveling, reading, movies, golf, dirt biking and so much more. Chris is a graduate of the National Association of REALTORS (NAR) Leadership Academy as well as the Utah Association of REALTORS (UAR) Leadership Academy. He has served in many capacities in the real estate industry at the national, state and local levels, including: 2013 Treasurer of the Utah Association of REALTORS 2011 President of the Utah County Association of REALTORS (UCAR) 2011 REALTOR of the Year – UCAR NAR Federal Political Coordinator assigned to US Senator Mike Lee 2011 NAR Strategic Planning Committee 2010 – 2013 NAR Public Policy Coordinating Committee 2011 Dean of the LeadershipUAR Program Chris has been a licensed REALTOR in the State of Utah since 2004. He has been recognized both nationally and locally by Prudential and was inducted into their Hall of Fame in 2010.
This entry was posted in Social Media, Twitter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Social Media Influence vs. Number of Followers

  1. Scott Dawson says:

    Great blog post Chris and congrats on the ranking. It still amazes me on people who don’t see the value of twitter (especially in our industry). I wish more people would realize they should use twitter to interact with and meet new people instead of just broadcasting their website, open houses, rates etc.

    I’d rather have 10-15 engaged followers than 1000’s any day.

  2. Congratulations on the ranking! I have much to learn–thanks for the help.

    Derek

  3. Chris,

    You definitely deserve the ranking! We often read your blog and @LowenSign follows you on Twitter for daily notifications. We appreciate the information you pass along as well as the engagement. Thanks!

  4. Mike Mueller says:

    Chris,
    Incredibly, I had written a blog post that goes wonderfully along with your theme. It’s been in draft mode for a few months and posted just this morning! Great minds…

    As for Brian – here’s his page on Facebook as well http://www.facebook.com/thebriansolis

    I completely agree with you on the quantity vs quality part but I’m not fond of trying to quantify the quality of those connections with Klout, TwitterGrader, etc. – read that again slowly…

    • utahREpro says:

      Mike, thank you! I agree with you too… But unfortunately they are the only ones providing a forum to quantify influence. Hopefully they will be fine tuned or someone will come up with a better format.
      The only reason I reference them is because they illustrate my point perfectly… I have more influence than two companies that have more followers. And conversely, I have ten times as many followers as the Orem Owlz and yet they are second place behind me in influence! Clearly engagement is the key to influence.
      See you tomorrow in NYC buddy!

Leave a Reply

