A Blogging Interview with Heather Elias

On Monday, December 20, 2010 I sat down via twitter with Heather Elias (@LoCoHeather) to discuss blogging. Heather is with Century 21 Redwood Realty in Loudoun County, VA (hence the LoCo – no she’s not crazy!)

Well, here’s the recap of #LoCoBlogerview – I hope you enjoy it:

First and foremost you can check out Heather’s blog at:

When did you first start blogging?

Mid 2006, on ActiveRain at first. I launched LoCoMusings on December 17, 2007. Three years! =) The time has flown!

How many blog posts have you written?

Grand total on Musings of 223 and counting. So you don’t have to write every day to have a successful blog. I usually post a couple of times a week.

What’s the craziest search term you’ve ever had bring someone to your blog?

“Kiss a Pig”…because of the Loudoun County Fair Pig Kissing Contest I was in several years back. Here’s the original Kiss a Pig post: http://is.gd/j4Y7W I lost, and was totally fine with it, when I got a look at that pig! Eeew.

Which blog post has had the most traffic for you?

A photo post for the new water park being built in Leesburg. Tons of hits! http://is.gd/j4Ysa

Which one was the most fun for you to write?

An investigative piece on builders going out of business: http://is.gd/j4YTn Turned into a whole series on one builder. Lots of readership from that. I was contacted by a lot of homeowners in that builder’s prior communities, looking for more info.

Being the great blogger that you are today… what would you go back and tell the rookie blogger you were?

Don’t be afraid to put your opinion out there! I have a journalism degree, so I am used to reporting facts. But the consumer/reader wants my insights, too.

Which blog post has caused you the most grief?

Can’t say I’ve had any grief, but this post garnered lots of attention: http://is.gd/j50aV Lots of folks providing information, reaching out to answer my questions on that topic.

What is your favorite blog to read besides your own?

I don’t read a lot of blogs, but definitely Mashable, and My Tech Opinion. My favorite real estate blog of all time is of course The Phoenix Real Estate Guy.

What’s the best blogging tip or trick you’ve ever received (not given)?

Most visitors don’t start their visit on your home page…. so don’t waste time on your home page design. Content, navigation are important. That came from @tyr , a couple of years ago. Changed my thoughts on design.

What’s the biggest mistake you see bloggers making?

Autoposting across networks. Write a different ‘headline’ or teaser, each place you post a link to a post. Those sidebars and header are the same for each post/page on the site.

What direction or innovation do you see coming this next year to the blogosphere?

No clue…but it’s only innovation if it’s embraced by the consumer, too (I’m looking at you, QR codes) 😉

What would you say to someone who is sitting on the sidelines and waiting to get into the blogoshpere?

If you are comfortable writing, go for it. It will feel like you are tossing it into a vacuum at first, but your readership will grow before you know it.

What is the most popular category and tag for your blog?

Hard to say, I write on so many topics. I think new construction posts are the most popular.

Where do you usually find the inspiration for your blogs?

From my community, what’s happening around me, and what are people talking about. The bus stop moms are a great source, as are my clients. I usually have a camera in the car, but my Evo works great on the fly. Some of the best posts have been impulsive, what I’ve seen while I’m out.

Is there anything you avoid like the plague when blogging?

Politics and religion. Without a doubt. I never, ever write about either.

How long does your typical blog take you to write?

Usually 30 minutes, tops. Unless it’s an investigative post, then it can take a week or more. Those investigative type posts tend to reap the biggest reward in terms of readership and engagement.

Alright… last question – what haven’t you blogged about yet, that you are dying to blog about?

Nothing..I always blog first, even if the post asks more questions than provides answers. Gives me time to look into it, and write a follow up. 🙂

About utahREpro

Chris is the managing broker for Prudential Utah Elite Real Estate in American Fork, Utah. His passions include spending time with his family, Real Estate, Social Media, traveling, reading, movies, golf, dirt biking and so much more. Chris is a graduate of the National Association of REALTORS (NAR) Leadership Academy as well as the Utah Association of REALTORS (UAR) Leadership Academy. He has served in many capacities in the real estate industry at the national, state and local levels, including: 2013 Treasurer of the Utah Association of REALTORS 2011 President of the Utah County Association of REALTORS (UCAR) 2011 REALTOR of the Year – UCAR NAR Federal Political Coordinator assigned to US Senator Mike Lee 2011 NAR Strategic Planning Committee 2010 – 2013 NAR Public Policy Coordinating Committee 2011 Dean of the LeadershipUAR Program Chris has been a licensed REALTOR in the State of Utah since 2004. He has been recognized both nationally and locally by Prudential and was inducted into their Hall of Fame in 2010.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Real Estate, Social Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Blogging Interview with Heather Elias

  1. How do I subscribe to this blog?

Leave a Reply

