A Blogging Interview with Benjamin Bach

On Saturday, December 18, 2010 I sat down via twitter with Benjamin Bach (@BenjaminBach) to discuss blogging. Benjamin is with Keller Williams Commercial in the Waterloo Region, Ontario, Canada and is a treasure trove of ideas and information! He also just created a new site – RookieBlogTips.com

Well, here’s the recap of #BBblogerview – I hope you enjoy it:

First and foremost you can check out Benjamin’s blog at:

When did you first start blogging?

2004. In my 2nd blog post I wondered if I could keep writing long term. I still wonder that 🙂 That was before I was in Real Estate, by the way. When I got into this biz, blogging was natural. As I learned about #CRE, my city & market, I wrote about it. This brought me readers & credibility. I didn’t start it for lead gen, but now its my #1 lead source for buyers & sellers. I think personal blogs give insight into who you are, and prospects like that. Keep it mostly biz. 90/10

How many blog posts have you written?

On my RE blogs, 700+. Plus blogs at http://JoyfulJubilantLearning.com AgentGenius.com & others.

What’s the craziest search term you’ve ever had bring someone to your blog?

Every summer I get a lot of searches about petting zoos & donkeys. I posted about things to do in the summer around town. We have a petting zoo. So, now I get the Donkey searches.

Which blog post has had the most traffic for you?

Posts about new lofts in town. 7 of my top 10 keywords are about lofts. I also get lots of traffic from my iPad For Real Estate content http://goo.gl/x7uP0

Which one was the most fun for you to write?

Interviews with:
@KeithFerrazzi http://goo.gl/QLq2n
@SethGodin http://goo.gl/FZyGm
@GaryVee and @BobBurg http://goo.gl/AZZlb
So awesome to do. I also LOVED writing this post – My first 10,000 tweets: http://goo.gl/BoFlw I also enjoyed writing “What I learnt at #REBarCampTO” http://goo.gl/VGheS

Being the great blogger that you are today… what would you go back and tell the rookie blogger you were?

  • Blog everything you’re learning about your niche & area.
  • Start collecting analytics asap, and mine that data!
  • Content Content Content – Realize you are in the content creation & distribution game.
  • Create more niche sites.
  • Re-publish content on hyper local niche blogs.
  • Own your site. Losing hundreds of backlinks SUCKS. Own your site means wordpress.org or another self hosted blog software; does not mean Make Facebook Your Online Home.
  • Writing: Just Do It.
  • Since Video is the Shiznit, make a vlog. Step by Step instructions here: http://goo.gl/jHvHe.
  • Turn questions people ask you into blogs.

What is your favorite blog to read besides your own?

I read a lot of SEO blogs, tech blogs, financial blogs. But check out a financial blog: ZeroHedge.com – Understanding the Economy is good for biz. Since I’m in #CRE, I really need to be up on economic trends, issues, etc when talking to clients. I also love watching youtube videos from RE moguls. Go watch this sometime: http://ht.ly/3rmUm Serious gem 6min in.

What’s the best blogging tip or trick you’ve ever received (not given)?

If you hear the same question twice, blog it! The Market Wants To Know!

What’s the biggest mistake you see bloggers making?

Giving up. As @TechSavvyAgent says, Agents want the R without doing the I. Don’t stop after 6 months. This is a long term play, and it’s the best one. Because of my content, 700+ posts across the net, I’m an authority. If I stopped 1st yr, not so much.

What direction or innovation do you see coming this next year to the blogosphere?

2011 PREDICTION: The blog will once again be declared dead, and I will keep making money by blogging. There will be more designing for mobile, transition from flash to html5 etc…

What would you say to someone who is sitting on the sidelines and waiting to get into the blogoshpere?

Just Start Writing – open a word processor, start writing, ask your teenage son to publish online.

What is the most popular category and tag for your blog?

Lofts, condos. People looking to invest in those, people looking to rent them, etc…

Where do you usually find the inspiration for your blogs?

I read a lot of industry (development, economy, etc) papers to keep a pulse on #CRE in my market and report back. From my clients, I write about what they’re doing, what they’ve done, etc. Show people what’s possible.

Is there anything you avoid like the plague when blogging?

Writing for search engines. Don’t do it!

How long does your typical blog take you to write?

Really depends. Sometimes I’m just doing a roundup of local issues, sometimes it’s an opus about a topic. Timeblock 30 minutes a day to write about your market. Pretend that you’re taking a class on being an expert in your market, and writing is your homework.

Alright… last question – what haven’t you blogged about yet, that you are dying to blog about?

Honestly? Losing 160lbs!

Some closing thoughts from Benjamin:

Notes from a presentation I gave on Social Media http://goo.gl/pZhmx

Two videos of me & 3 others sharing gems http://goo.gl/pZhmx

Here are free ebooks on using Facebook & Twitter for business http://goo.gl/pZhmx

If you liked #BBblogerview go here to get more great stuff, including chat with @darinpersinger http://ht.ly/3rn8x

My video message to a new Realtor about Internet Marketing: http://goo.gl/FFdsa

The digital roads to riches all run through Content. Go build some!

Final Note From Chris:

As a result of our interview, Benjamin launched a new website called Rookie Blog Tips!
Check it out:

About utahREpro

Chris is the managing broker for Prudential Utah Elite Real Estate in American Fork, Utah. His passions include spending time with his family, Real Estate, Social Media, traveling, reading, movies, golf, dirt biking and so much more. Chris is a graduate of the National Association of REALTORS (NAR) Leadership Academy as well as the Utah Association of REALTORS (UAR) Leadership Academy. He has served in many capacities in the real estate industry at the national, state and local levels, including: 2013 Treasurer of the Utah Association of REALTORS 2011 President of the Utah County Association of REALTORS (UCAR) 2011 REALTOR of the Year – UCAR NAR Federal Political Coordinator assigned to US Senator Mike Lee 2011 NAR Strategic Planning Committee 2010 – 2013 NAR Public Policy Coordinating Committee 2011 Dean of the LeadershipUAR Program Chris has been a licensed REALTOR in the State of Utah since 2004. He has been recognized both nationally and locally by Prudential and was inducted into their Hall of Fame in 2010.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Real Estate, Social Media and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Blogging Interview with Benjamin Bach

  1. Nick says:

    Some great tips, for sure. Thanks!
    One thing I want to do better this year is to pay closer attention to the analytics of our site.

Leave a Reply

