Hello? Is Anyone There? The Lost Art of the Telephone Conversation

This was a blog I wrote back on January 7, 2010 on a retired site of mine. I thought I’d repost it here as it is still as relevant at the end of 2010 as it was at the beginning of the year! Enjoy:

Broken rotary phone at the F and M Packing Plant in Elkton, Florida. I love technology! In fact the reason I am up so early this morning is because I am crying just a bit that I am not down at CES in Las Vegas for the next few days enjoying all the new technology the world has to offer me. I actually teach Social Media to REALTORS® here in Utah and probably should go seek counseling for my Twitter addiction. Here’s what I don’t get…with the advent of texting and Twitter there seems to be a serious decline in the human race’s ability to actually answer a phone call. Increasingly I am finding myself speaking to answering machines and being left with the empty feeling of wondering if I will actually get a phone call back. And most shockingly of all it is my fellow REALTORS® who are among the worst of all at using that time tested and truest of all technologies…THE TELEPHONE!

It turns out that sometimes you actually have more to say than 160 or 140 characters allow you to type. Heaven forbid we actually might want to have real communication take place. Now I know I am venting here just a bit, mostly because I am waiting for a fellow REALTOR® to return my call and tell me when and how I can show their listing to my client (it’s been more than 48 hours now, by the way).

Interestingly enough I posted a question on Twitter last night regarding Tweetdeck vs. Hootsuite and had several responses from the one worder “Hootsuite” to a full 140 character explanation. However my favorite response was from Marc Pina (@MarcTheRealtor) ”@mokukai Dude. Just decided that last night. Call if want to go over my observations b/t Hoot, TD and Seesmic.” Now here’s a guy who understands that some times 140 characters just doesn’t cut it. I of course called Marc immediately anxious for the knowledge he was willing to impart. The best part of all of this? He ANSWERED his phone! BTW Marc – Thanks for your insight!

As I was doing some research on this phone subject I didn’t find a whole lot…maybe there will be some new sociologically study conducted. I can already tell you my 17 year old spends 100x more energy and time texting than actually speaking into his cell phone, and he’s got unlimited minutes! I did find this while searching the internet – http://activerain.com/blogsview/494143/Sorry-I-Don-t An interesting blog by Frank Llosa explaining why he doesn’t take your calls. Wonder if the recent housing woes have made him rethink that strategy, as it was written almost two years ago.

Anyway, what are your thoughts? Are we losing the art of actual conversation? I gotta run, need to get back on Twitter, starting to get the shakes…

About utahREpro

Chris is the managing broker for Prudential Utah Elite Real Estate in American Fork, Utah. His passions include spending time with his family, Real Estate, Social Media, traveling, reading, movies, golf, dirt biking and so much more. Chris is a graduate of the National Association of REALTORS (NAR) Leadership Academy as well as the Utah Association of REALTORS (UAR) Leadership Academy. He has served in many capacities in the real estate industry at the national, state and local levels, including: 2013 Treasurer of the Utah Association of REALTORS 2011 President of the Utah County Association of REALTORS (UCAR) 2011 REALTOR of the Year – UCAR NAR Federal Political Coordinator assigned to US Senator Mike Lee 2011 NAR Strategic Planning Committee 2010 – 2013 NAR Public Policy Coordinating Committee 2011 Dean of the LeadershipUAR Program Chris has been a licensed REALTOR in the State of Utah since 2004. He has been recognized both nationally and locally by Prudential and was inducted into their Hall of Fame in 2010.
This entry was posted in Professionalism, Technology, Twitter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello? Is Anyone There? The Lost Art of the Telephone Conversation

  1. Anon says:

    I reply with a resounding YES! We are losing the art of actual conversation… and more than just in the business world, but in personal relationships.

    I’ve been trying to get a friend on the phone for the past several days to actually make plans and schedules for a trip we’re to make together in a week or so, but she never answers her phone, and she only called me back today to say that she couldn’t talk and would have to call me another day, but during our brief conversation, I found out that she had also made other plans, because she’d forgotten our plans, which wouldn’t have happened if she’d just called me back. And I can’t make plans with others until we’ve settled our plans.

    We’ve had prior discussions about the fact that I don’t have text, and that’s virtually all she uses… and tries to make me feel bad that I don’t, even though I’ve often told her that I could use e-mail or Facebook message as an alternate, and she makes me nervous when she texts while driving.

    One of the biggest reasons that I prefer the phone call over even e-mail is that with e-mail, FB message or text, you are already at a disadvantage that they cannot see your body language, but written messages (including text) also lack voice cues which can lead to miscommunication. It’s happened to me numerous times.

Leave a Reply

