Twitter is Misunderstood

I posed a question to my Facebook friends earlier this week. I was curious to know if they weren’t using Twitter, WHY? The responses were rather interesting to me. They ranged from the popular, “Facebook is enough for me” to “Twitter is overwhelming with all of the constant tweets.” There seemed to be a common theme among all of the responses. For the most part the message was loud and clear –

TWITTER IS MISUNDERSTOOD!

I can’t blame them really. When I first signed up for Twitter I didn’t know what on earth I was doing. This new strange language with @’s and #’s and these funny looking hyperlinks like ow.ly and bit.ly etc. At first I was wondering if I needed to contact Rossetta Stone and ask for their how to speak Twitterese books and CDs. The other dilemma I faced in the beginning was I wasn’t following the right people. The constant tweets of “I am at the store” or “I am working” got really old really quick. Twitter just wasn’t for me…

…Until, I started interacting with some amazing people. There was actually an incredible amount of valuable information being shared, collaborations taking place, and connections being made. These people helped show me the ropes and point me in the right direction to learn more. One of the most helpful resources I encountered was from the great people at Mashable who put together the:

 

 

It’s interesting now as I look back, I used to use Facebook almost exclusively. Today, I find myself using Twitter almost 3 to 1 over Facebook. Glad I didn’t throw in the towel early on…

About utahREpro

Chris is the managing broker for Prudential Utah Elite Real Estate in American Fork, Utah. His passions include spending time with his family, Real Estate, Social Media, traveling, reading, movies, golf, dirt biking and so much more. Chris is a graduate of the National Association of REALTORS (NAR) Leadership Academy as well as the Utah Association of REALTORS (UAR) Leadership Academy. He has served in many capacities in the real estate industry at the national, state and local levels, including: 2013 Treasurer of the Utah Association of REALTORS 2011 President of the Utah County Association of REALTORS (UCAR) 2011 REALTOR of the Year – UCAR NAR Federal Political Coordinator assigned to US Senator Mike Lee 2011 NAR Strategic Planning Committee 2010 – 2013 NAR Public Policy Coordinating Committee 2011 Dean of the LeadershipUAR Program Chris has been a licensed REALTOR in the State of Utah since 2004. He has been recognized both nationally and locally by Prudential and was inducted into their Hall of Fame in 2010.
This entry was posted in Social Media, Twitter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Twitter is Misunderstood

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Twitter is Misunderstood | utahREpro -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

